Fortnite Season 5 Stunt Is Bringing Objects Into The Real World

news-details

An event in Fortnite appears to be spilling out into the real world as part of a promotional stunt for the coming season. A recent rocket launch opened up cracks in the sky and rifts began swallowing parts of the game world. Now at least one of those landmarks has appeared in a remote desert.

Greasy Grove's Durr Burger disappeared from the map recently, only to be found by photographer Sela Shiloni in the desert of Palmdale, California (via Eurogamer). Shiloni tweeted about the bizarre find, asking what this strange object was doing in the middle of nowhere. He followed up with a video to prove it wasn't Photoshopped, and has admitted he does not play video games and wasn't familiar with the reference. A police car nearby accompanies a sign that says, "This site is unstable. Beware of possible effects."

Meanwhile, an agent near the Durr Burger sign was handing out a mysterious card with a phone number that appeared to play rift sounds. Dexerto reports that the audio from that phone call has been decoded, and it points to the coordinates of Greasy Grove. That may indicate another clue incoming at that location soon.

This seems likely to be part of the promotional campaign from Epic leading up to the launch of Season 5, but where it all ends is anybody's guess. Epic has been keen at throwing curveballs in its world events, first by having a meteor strike the map and take out Dusty Depot instead of the widely accepted Tilted Towers, and more recently, having a missile launch open a rift instead of impact a part of the map directly.

The rifts appear to be leading to a shift in the objects that appear around the map. Modern-day objects are disappearing, and data-miners have found historical props like a poker table and Penny Farthing bike. One such object, a Greek anchor, appeared near Snobby Shores. It seems likely that by the time all this is over, some current objects will go missing and the map will be populated by historical artifacts.

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7

Season 5 of Fortnite is scheduled to begin on Thursday, July 12, at 1 AM PDT / 4 AM EDT / 9 AM BST / 6 PM AET, which means you have just a few days left to complete the Season 4 challenges. You also have just a couple more days to finish up your fan film for your chance at notoriety and a boatload of V-Bucks.

you may also want to read